top of page

Sa Pa day #2

I’ve realized my dates are a bit out of place because of my lag in posting. We were in Sa Pa on the 8th-10th. I am now going to write about November 10th and 11th. My apologies.

Waking up in the mountains was an amazing feeling. Eating breakfast with the view of the river and the cool air was an even better feeling.

After breakfast, we started a trek, and I don't think there is an appropriate way to describe it. Rather than a trek, it was more of a 3 mile tightrope walk on shaky rocks, with mud and water on each side. It was difficult because I have never been a graceful, agile person, so I got a little bit muddy on our trek. But I could have fallen into a pit of mud and that would not have ruined the day we had. We trekked through the mountains of Sa Pa and it was one of the most beautiful and peaceful places I have ever been. We trekked for hours, and the entire way I was absolutely floored at the mountains, at the staircases of rice paddies, the water buffalos, and the entire atmosphere. We ended our day at the house of an ethnic minority called the Red Dao, where we met the Shaman of the minority, and also ate lunch in the home of a Red Dao family. It is always so amazing how welcoming the families are to us. I usually expect some level of animosity when 15 American students enter a home of very sacred people and families, but these families are always more than happy to have us there. It really makes me realize how different Americans are than other people. They were so nice and fed us until we couldn't eat any longer. We then got to talk to the Shaman and learn of his practices and how a Shaman’s work has changed over the years. It is really incredible hearing people from ethnic minorities talk, because sometimes, they want to stay in the level of development they have, but the government pushes them to develop. So seeing them hold on to their roots as strongly as they do is very admirable.

At the end of the day we drove back to Sa Pa city where I did not get out of my bed until the next day. It was a hard day that was worthy of a relaxing evening.

That next morning however, was very interesting. We drove an hour north, where we were dangerously close to the Chinese boarder, something very cool to experience. It was very interesting being able to see people walking to and from China and Vietnam, and realizing how truly north in Vietnam we were. I only joked about “digging to China” a few times.

The rest of the day was our long and grueling journey back to Hanoi.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page