top of page

Universal Soldier

December 4th, 2017

I feel like in the past week and a half I have learned how to walk all over again.

Yes, that may be a gross exaggeration. However, it’s as if my years of studying were for not, and I am learning everything in a whole new light, all over again. I’ve honestly never felt more alive because of it.

A week ago I met with Mark Ashwill. I went into the meeting with no expectations as to what we were going to talk about, and it did not disappoint. We talked about a range of topics, from patriotism versus nationalism, to the Vietnam War, to books I need to read, to name a few. His views on different aspects of American politics and history opened my eyes to a new way of thinking; whether I agreed with him or not, I was able to start thinking in a completely different perspective, and for that I am eternally grateful. Perhaps when I return home I will write a paper on my new findings and how my opinions have changed from being here.

The peak of my semester in Vietnam happened on Saturday. It was, without a doubt, the greatest day in the past few months, and the crowning point as a journalist, researcher, and passionate about the Vietnam War. I had the honor of interviewing a North Vietnamese Veteran, Mr. Nguyen Cao Phong.

I also want to thank my Uncle Paul Horrigan, because without him urging me and inspiring me to pursue my interests, I probably wouldn't have. I would have let my fear of facing a NVA veteran stop me from this once in a lifetime opportunity. So Uncle Paul, thank you. You pushed me out of my comfort zone for me, from thousands of miles away, and I am so grateful.

If you ask any of my friends or family, you would know how unbelievably nervous I was for this interview. I expected to be met with a little bit of hostility, curtness, and somewhat of a cold shoulder. We did destroy his country, after all (that hurt to write, but is not false).

With that being said, I was welcomed in just the opposite way. Upon arriving with my translator, a friend of mine, he took both of us by the hand and walked us upstairs of a restaurant, where we were greeted by 5 or 6 people. Not only was this lunch, but it was a celebration. Mr. Phong told us that he had brought us to the celebration of the relationship between Vietnam and Lao. He explained that half of the people were Vietnamese, and half were Lao. He then told us that Vietnam and Lao have been through everything together, and they have the strongest trust in all of Southeast Asia, and that is worth celebrating.

I had never been so warmly welcomed by a group of people. We ate, toasted, and talked for hours. All the while, Mr. Phong answered some of my questions. Before starting our conversation, he eased my fears by saying that he did not want me to hold back any questions. That he wanted me to ask anything I wanted, and how he wanted me to learn as much as I possibly could and understand his people and his country.

I just spent nearly the entire day listening to 6 hours of audio and transcribing the conversations we had. I would like to share just a few things that he said that truly moved me. The pronouns are changed because I was talking with him through a translator.

Mr. Phong: You can be sure that I will be very open and very honest because these are my true stories.

Mr. Phong’s explanation of Ho Chi Minh’s leadership moved me. Not only was he wholeheartedly invested in the freedom of the people, but Mr. Phong revealed the inspiration that Ho Chi Minh bestowed on his people.

Ho chi minh said that everyone everywhere has to acknowledge that we are going to have to go through a war that is going to rage really long so even if we have to burn the entire mountain and even when the seas dried up we have to free our people- that was the state of mind everyone was in. We have to do all that we can to free the country.

Mr. Phong has an incredible view of Vietnam. He is so hopeful and inspirational and wants the people of the entire world, but especially America to understand the there is no longer any hatred towards the US. He says that his country is so hopeful about where Vietnam is headed, and it is a peaceful nation that wants to become friends with America once again.

Do not forget the past and do not forget the war but remember it not to hold a grudge and to acknowledge what happened in the past and be grateful for all we have now….The state of mind of Vietnam has been driving our country forward but because of this will and this drive you can grow from the past because it will only drag you down. We cannot just deny everything that is good about this country because things were once bad.

I was very curious about the state of the NVA when Ho Chi Minh passed away. When I asked him about this, he explained that there was never halt in efforts, but only a bigger push.

Even though he is gone he is not really gone because he lives with the spirit of the people and him passing away is a big loss but we have to continue his legacy and free the people and that is a way to give him life and this is how you honor Ho Chi Minh.

I can’t explain to you how moved I was by Mr. Phong’s words, by how he treated me as if we had been best friends for years, by how open and willing he was to speak with me. If more people had the mindset that he does, we would not be in this eerily familiar time we are in right now. I am so honored that I was able to partake in the celebration of the unification of two countries. I am so grateful that I was able to meet one of the most inspirational, loving, and generous men, despite everything that both of our countries have been through. I could go on for hours about this man, but he does not think I have enough information about his life, despite talking with him for 6 hours. So, out of respect for Mr. Phong, this is all I will say about him for now. But expect a paper, a story, and so much more on him in the coming weeks. I will stop at nothing to respect his wishes to explain to the people of my own country that Vietnam is no longer mad, no longer in pain, but very hopeful for their future. He only hopes that we as citizens try to bridge a relationship between the two countries on different sides of the globe; we both deserve it.

Mr. Phong filled my heart with so much love and joy on Saturday, something this country never fails to do. My passion for the Vietnam only grows with every day I am here, though like I said, it’s as if I am learning it all over again. My only hope is that my friends, family, and peers back at home try to learn about this country, this war, and the events surrounding it, we can learn a lot from the small country of Vietnam.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page